I’m Still Here…

No, I did not fall off the face of the planet over summer. I’ve just been enjoying my first “real” summer since becoming a teacher. Every summer leading up to this one, I’ve worked a second job so that I could pay off various bills and all of that business. This summer, though, I made it a point to 1) enjoy my family as much as possible, and 2) do nothing as much as possible (other than read). Also, I had that Oxford Jane Austen class to finish, which required rather a lot of reading of Jane Austen novels, and well, let’s face it – after reading three of her novels in a row, I needed a break. Not only that, but I had to read the books I’ll be teaching this fall in the International Baccalaureate Programme, a new adventure for me. So, when it’s all said and done, here are the books I’ve read this summer, listed even if they’re a second reading:

1. Persuasion – Jane Austen
2. Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen
3. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
4. Like Water for Chocolate – Laura Esquivel
5. Women of Sand and Myrrh – Hanan al-Shaykh
6. How to Read Literature Like a Professor – Thomas C. Foster
7. Kitchen – Banana Yoshimoto
8. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood (a re-read, the third time, made me love it more!)
9. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (a re-read, who knows how many times this is, reading it to teach it to my IB juniors)

So, there you have it. Really it’s not my most stellar reading summer, I admit. But I think my brain needed a break after a particularly stressful school year. After all, last summer in Mexico I read six books in two weeks. That was a fun time.

I’ll be back to posting about Austen novels here shortly, though I’ll likely be switching to Pride and Prejudice as I’m compelled to read it for teaching purposes.

Happy summer, and cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

