Well, it’s not really “literature,” but…

I read the final book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent series. I should correct myself though and say that it is “young adult literature.” I suppose, though, my problem is that I’ve read so many series recently (Hunger Games, Matched, etc.) that I’ve sort of grown tired of the post-apocalyptic/dystopian genre.

However, I will say that I did enjoy reading the finale of Roth’s series. I was surprised at her choice of ending, and that was actually refreshing. You see, when one teaches literature, one is often stuck in a rut of “Oh, this is going to happen,” and one figures out the ending before it happens, and one also analyzes every character’s archetypal meaning…but I digress. I said that the ending was refreshing, but her choice of the dual narrative is also refreshing. The finale of the Matched series utilized the same perspective-changing method, but it was less effective, likely because Roth’s prose is much more balanced and, well, in some places, just beautiful.

At any rate, if I had to choose my favorite dystopian trilogies, Roth’s is right up there with The Hunger Games. Even THG had the issue of becoming over politicized at the end, and I feel that with the focus more on the characters’ perspectives, reactions, and interactions than the political/social subtext, Roth may have just succeeded where Collins fell short.

So. While I’m not commenting on literature in the traditional/canonical literary sense, at least I’m writing, right? Baby steps back to writing more…baby steps to being a real blogger…

One thought on “Well, it’s not really “literature,” but…

  1. Nice breakdown of the different series. I haven’t read the second book yet in the Divergent series, but I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

