A Bevy of Bears and Balloons

(oh, and flowers and chocolates, too.)

Valentine’s Day is, hands-down, my least favorite day to babysit a room full of teenagers teach.

So, this year, to illustrate the effect this miasma of pink, purple, read, and terrifying teenage hormones has on my teaching, I decided I would keep a tally of the number of times I saw the following items, mainly in the hands of my 83 students, though I did count some from the hallway):

1) Stuffed animals – 17
2) Chocolate packages – 16
3) Balloons – 16
4) Flowers – 10 (total of bouquets and single stems)

When I informed my students that I was going to keep track, a male student thought for a moment and said, “She’s making fun of us, guys,” which of course caused me to laugh. Then, another student responded with, “Smart people laugh about weird things.” I will, undoubtedly, write more about that particular nugget of wisdom later.

My only comment on the mania phenomenon of today is: if these students spent the same amount of money on pencils, pens, and paper, it would really be something.

4 thoughts on “A Bevy of Bears and Balloons

  1. I remember clearly Valentine’s day as one of the students that wasn’t able to participate. It was awful in the extreme. Back in the late mid to late nineties when I was in high school, there were sports teams, yearbook, and other groups that would sell an individual balloon or flower for delivery with a card, which were sent to class each period (you could choose when to send them during the day). I cannot image how disruptive and annoying that must be for you as teacher. The entire day was basically a waste because of all the deliveries and excitement. I had wanted to be a teacher originally, but I remember that my high school experiences and finding out how much college would cost versus expected pay soured that dream really quickly. You do a damn hard job and I admire that.

  2. My freshman DS said the same thing. They had singing telegrams that disrupted his classes. Cute, but annoying.

Leave a Reply

