Reading Into Reading: Reading With Purpose as an Author with Julie

This post by Julie Hutchings provides an interesting insight into how authors use the works of others to influence/help/facilitate their own writing processes.

Deadly Ever After

TODAY’S BREW: It’s the last day of school vacation. ALL OF THE BREW.

By Julie

My book-buying habit is worthy of intervention, but it’s BOOKS. B O O K S. I justified to a friend online with her own book habit (this could be like, two thousand people on Twitter alone) that I only buy books that coincide with what I’m writing at the time.

BUT WHAT DO YOU MEAN? she asked.

While writing THE WIND BETWEEN WORLDS, I’ve read a lot of books for a lot of different reasons, all of which contribute directly to my writing. Here’s a few and what they’ve helped with:

  • THE FAIRYLAND SERIES by Catherynne Valente. September is a young female character with incredible self-awareness and backbone. I want that for a couple of the Witches in this book so I read to take note of how her strength was portrayed in such a…

View original post 934 more words

Leave a Reply

