Why I Teach (The Response)

So on Monday I posted my teaching “vision statement” as a way of sharing more of what I’m like as a teacher. That is, after all, my “first” career, with editing and book blogging being my secondary ones.

In an attempt to build community and allow the kids to know even more about us, my co-teacher and I allowed them to ask questions of us. They were allowed to do so anonymously, and then we chose some to answer in front of the class. I compiled their questions into a list (because that’s the organized type of person I am), and I’m posting them here. Why? Well, because their questions constitute yet another reason why I teach, especially the one in bold. Hope you enjoy!

  • Grand ideas: What if I don’t know exactly where I want to be because I want to take so many risks?
  • What if a student did so well in trying to succeed but still failed?
  • Can we have help in constructing the grand ideas for the future?
  • What’s the biggest writing/reading risk you’ve taken?
  • What if something happens to one of us, would you be able to be flexible with what we have going on?
  • Why would you only sometimes give us advice and not all the time you see us struggling?
  • What challenges did you face when you were our age?
  • Can you give an example of how you’ll take our feelings into consideration?
  • How will you take people’s feelings into consideration when a lot of us have different personalities?
  • Why do you have such a stern way in showing affection to your students?
  • You said take risks. Let’s say you fail, do you continue trying or just move on? What if you don’t ever get it right?
  • When you say you support us, when will we know your bad days for us to be able to support you as well? Or give you our help as a class?
  • Is there anything specific we have to achieve? Or any risk we should take now rather than later?
  • What kinds of risks are appropriate to take with this class? What risks are not?

Leave a Reply

