Book Blogger Love-A-Thon 2016 | Who is Heather?

loveathon

2016 Love-a-Thon

Dates: February 20, 12AM EST – February 22, 12AM EST

Hosted by: Alexa (Alexa Loves Books), Cee (The Novel Hermit), Hazel (Stay Bookish) & Mel (The Daily Prophecy)

QUESTIONNAIRE

1. What’s your name? Heather Wheat
2. Where in the world are you blogging from? I blog from just northwest of Denver, Colorado.
3. How did you get into blogging in the first place? I got into blogging in the first place because my husband said I needed a place to showcase my voice. So I did. My blog started as more of a blog about education and the humanities, but as my interests focused more on books, I transitioned my blog to a book blog. I do still sometimes blog about education and life, but mostly I talk about books and how much I love them.
4. How did you come up with your blog name? “Wandering Bark” is a snippet from Shakespeare’s Sonnet 116. Long story short, it says that love is a guiding star for every lost ship. There’s a lot more to me choosing it than that, and maybe someday I will explain it all!
5. What genre do you read and review the most on your blog? I love many genres, including historical fiction, YA, NA, and more. If the book has an interesting premise and strong characters about which I develop strong feelings, then I’m good to go!
6. Favorite thing about the blogging community? My favorite thing is how diverse the book blogging (and blogging community in general) is. And everyone is so open and helpful!
7. Name the 5 books you’re most excited for this 2016! Oh man. Only five?? So unfair. Crooked Kingdom (Leigh Bardugo), The Shadow Hour (Melissa Grey), A Court of Mist and Fury (Sarah J. Maas), and A Torch Against the Night (Sabaa Tahir). There are more, of course! But I only got to choose five.
8. Name the 5 books you want to read this 2016 that you didn’t get to in previous years! A Darker Shade of Magic (Schwab),
9. Which book boy or girl would be your book BFF? Lady Julia Grey, from Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia Grey series.
10. Apart from reading, what are your other hobbies or interests? Well I teach full-time, so a lot of my time is spent planning lessons or marking essays or papers and stuff like that. I also have two kids, so more of my time is spent taking them places they need to be. If I get time to sit down, I love to watch an episode of White Collar, or Supernatural, but then again that’s time I could spend reading a book! And reading usually edges everything else out.
12. Pick out either a book you want turned into a film/TV show, or a film/TV show you want turned into a book. Well, I’m very excited for Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia Grey series to be made into a television series (which it is, soon!), and that is the one I’m most looking forward to.
13. What would your dream library look like? Floor-to-ceiling bookshelves in a big room that is all mine, with an awesome reading couch/chair, and a coffee- and tea-making nook.
14. Author you want to meet and sit down to tea with? Deborah Harkness, author of the Discovery of Witches series!

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Love-A-Thon 2016 | Who is Heather?

  1. Hi Heather! Great to meet you. I haven’t read Deborah Harkness’ series yet, but it intrigues me. I also definitely am excited for Crooked Kingdom, ACOMAF and A Torch Against the Night! Definitely a few fantasy reads that I’m SO excited to devour when they’re out this year. Thanks for joining us and happy love-a-thon!

Leave a Reply

