Excerpt—Wintersong by S. Jae Jones

I am SO excited to share an excerpt of S. Jae Jones’s WINTERSONG with you! I absolutely LOVED the book, and wish I had time to write a more thorough review, but suffice it to say that YOU WILL LOVE IT and the spirit of The Goblin King will stay with us all, always! WINTERSONG releases TOMORROW, so be sure to check out the information below, and go buy a copy as soon as you can!

ABOUT WINTERSONG

Already one of the most anticipated young adult debuts of 2017, WINTERSONG (Thomas Dunne Books; February 7, 2017) is an enrapturing journey through a 19th century fairytale. A talented debut by S. Jae-Jones, WINTERSONG was inspired by the film Labyrinth and spun together on the threads of song, in a time when young upstart composers like Beethoven were forever altering the sound of music. A story about sisterly devotion and coming of age, Liesl and the Goblin King come alive within the depths of this masterful composition.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl faces an impossible choice. As she grows closer to the Goblin King, both of them must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

With an enchanting winterized cover, WINTERSONG will keep readers cozy while experiencing a chilling adventure like no other. S. Jae-Jones’ richly imagined debut spins a spellbinding tale of music, love, sisterhood, and a young woman’s search for self-actualization.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

jae-jones-s_no-creditS. Jae-Jones (called JJ) is an artist, an adrenaline junkie, and erstwhile editrix. When not obsessing over books, she can be found jumping out of perfectly good airplanes, co-hosting the Pub(lishing) Crawl podcast, or playing dress-up. Born and raised in Los Angeles, she now lives in North Carolina, as well as many other places on the internet, including Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, Instagram, and her blog.

 

To download and read an excerpt of WINTERSONG, click on the glossary below!

PRAISE FOR WINTERSONG

“This is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.”
—Booklist, STARRED review

“Jae-Jones writes beautifully about the magic of love, the power of music, and the importance of free will.”
—Publishers Weekly

“This fantasy debut is rife with intricate details and world-building, as well as the charged relationship between Liesl and the Goblin King. Fans of Gregory Maguire’s Egg & Spoon or E.K. Johnston’s A Thousand Nights will be drawn to the in-depth descriptions of the goblins’ realm.”
—School Library Journal

“A maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.”
—Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Spellbinding and sexy, WINTERSONG is a feast for all the senses. I didn’t want this beautifully written book to end.”
—Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter… Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment.”
—Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

“A darkly lush and dangerous tale… Beautiful writing evokes powerful emotions in this journey into the meaning of sacrifice and the power of love.”
—Kate Elliott, author of the Court of Fives

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s