Blog Tour and Review—The Savage Dawn by Melissa Grey

I am so excited to participate in the blog tour by reviewing the final book in THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT series, THE SHADOW HOUR. See below for my review, and information about the books in the series.

If you’ve followed my blog for a while, then you know I loved the first book in this series, The Girl at Midnight, and its follow-up, The Shadow Hour.

I’m happy to say that Grey’s final offering, The Savage Dawn, did not disappoint. It also, however, did not leave me with very dry eyes. My literal reaction was something very like this )which you may have seen on Twitter):

The Savage Dawn opens with us rejoining Echo in her quest to set the balance of the world right again in her role as the mythical Firebird. After a vicious fight with the usurping Tanith, she’s left broken, bruised, and bereft as she tries to find Caius.

I won’t go into specifics, of course, because any specifics, when it comes to a final book in a series, count as spoilers. But suffice it to say that this conclusion to the story is as much about the power of love to heal and transform as it is about finding a way to balance out the powers of light and dark in the world—and within all of us.

It’s also about recognizing the power we all have within ourselves to be who we are truly meant to be and love who we are meant to love, no matter who they are or where they come from. The Avicen and Drakharin societies are divided until many among them begin to realize that fighting against each other only opens up the opportunity for darker, more sinister things to take hold and grow roots. They realize that working together creates a stronger foe than any singular society.

Dorian says it best:

It’s the same…nonsense. we fought, we bled, we died, and all in the name of glory. And so we perpetuate the legend that all that fighting and bleeding and dying is worth something so that future generations can go on repeating the sins of the past while expecting it to result in anything besides more fighting and bleeding and dying.

And, as Echo says, all suffering and hatred accomplishes is “creating more suffering, more hatred.” Ivy delivers the clincher, though, in a line so relevant to today it was stunning to read: “Hate is a choice. And it’s not one I’m interested in making.”

In a world so dominated by hate, it’s time for so many people to take a cue from Echo, Caius, Dorian, Jasper, and Ivy, and realize that the key to moving forward is choosing not to hate—and to look on the future with love, acceptance, and maybe a quick-witted retort or 2,000 (as long as you’re as good with the comebacks as Echo and Jasper, that is).

I definitely recommend you read the entire series if you haven’t, but make sure you’ve got tissues handy once you get to The Savage Dawn.

About the Book

Title: THE SAVAGE DAWN

Author: Melissa Grey

Release Date: July 11, 2017

Pages: 496

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Formats: Hardcover & eBook

Find it:  Amazon, B&N, iBooks, TBD, Goodreads

The sides have been chosen and the battle lines drawn.

Echo awakened the Firebird. Now she is the only one with the power to face the darkness she unwittingly unleashed . . . right into the waiting hands of Tanith, the new Dragon Prince. Tanith has one goal in mind: destroy her enemies, raze their lands, and reign supreme in a new era where the Drakharin are almighty and the Avicen are nothing but a memory.

The war that has been brewing for centuries is finally imminent. But the scales are tipped. Echo might hold the power to face the darkness within the Dragon Prince, but she has far to go to master its overwhelming force. And now she’s plagued by uncertainty. With Caius no longer by her side, she doesn’t know if she can do it alone. Is she strong enough to save her home and the people she loves?

Whether Echo is ready to face this evil is not the question. The war has begun, and there is no looking back. There are only two outcomes possible: triumph or death.

Make sure to check out the other books in the series!

Title: THE SHADOW HOUR

Author: Melissa Grey

Pub. Date: July 12, 2016

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Pages: 432

Format: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Find it: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, TBD, Goodreads

Everything in Echo’s life changed in a blinding flash when she learned the startling truth: she is the firebird, the creature of light that is said to bring peace.

The firebird has come into the world, but it has not come alone. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, and Echo can feel a great and terrible darkness rising in the distance. Cosmic forces threaten to tear the world apart.

Echo has already lost her home, her family, and her boyfriend. Now, as the firebird, her path is filled with even greater dangers than the ones she’s already overcome.

She knows the Dragon Prince will not fall without a fight.

Echo must decide: can she wield the power of her true nature–or will it prove too strong for her, and burn what’s left of her world to the ground?

Welcome to the shadow hour.

Book 1 Info:

Title: THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT

Author: Melissa Grey

Pub. Date: April 28, 2015

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Pages: 368

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks, TBD,  Goodreads

For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants … and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Praise for THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT:

“Grey’s energetic debut offers a strong protagonist…[and the] well-built world, vivid characters, and perfect blend of action and amour should have readers eagerly seeking the sequel.” — Kirkus Reviews, Starred

 “Sparks fly…This first novel will please fans of Cassandra Clare and Game of Thrones watchers with its remarkable world building; richly developed characters…[and] a breathtaking climax that…cannot come soon enough!””—Booklist starred review

“Inventive, gorgeous, and epic—Grey dazzles in her debut.” — Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die

“A stunning debut. Equal parts atmosphere and adventure … positively divine.” – Victoria Schwab, author of A Darker Shade of Magic

About Melissa:

Melissa Grey was born and raised in New York City. She wrote her first short story at the age of twelve and hasn’t stopped writing since. After earning a degree in fine arts at Yale University, she traveled the world, then returned to New York City where she currently works as a freelance journalist. To learn more about Melissa, visit melissa-grey.com and follow @meligrey on Twitter.

Website  | Blog | Twitter  | Instagram | Pinterest |  Goodreads

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a hardcover of THE SAVAGE DAWN! US Only.

 

CLICK HERE TO ENTER!

Tour Schedule

Week One:

7/3/2017- a GREAT read– Review

7/4/2017- Zach’s YA Reviews– Review

7/5/2017- YA Books Central– Excerpt

7/6/2017- The Eater of Books!– Review

7/7/2017- Mom with a Reading Problem– Review

Week Two:

7/10/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt

7/11/2017- Mundie Moms– Review

7/12/2017- Wandering Bark Books– Review

7/13/2017- Fiction Fare– Excerpt

7/14/2017- QUITE THE NOVEL IDEA– Review

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s