Spotlight—Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

I’m so happy to partner with Penguin Teen to bring you this spotlight for FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS by Julie C. Dao as part of their #WickedReads lead-up to Halloween!! See below for information about the book and author!

About the book:

In a world where sin can be magically transferred from sinner to “sin-eater” for a cost, a gifted young sin-eater uncovers a dark secret and must rely on his deadly talents to save the kingdom–and his own life–in this thrilling YA fantasy debut that will appeal to fans of Sabaa Tahir and Paolo Bacigalupi.

Seventeen-year-old Taj is the most talented sin-eater indentured by the Guild, a ruthless  organization of mages that runs a lucrative trade absolving the rich. In the walled city of Kos, mages have a dark magic that allows them to call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin beasts–lethal creatures spawned from feelings of anguish and guilt. Every time Taj slays a sin beast, an image of the beast scars his skin while the guilt of committing the sin scars his mind. Most sin-eaters can’t take it, driven mad by the process. But Taj is gifted and cocky and desperate–his family depends on his wages, and he’s willing to risk everything for them. Until Taj is hired to do a job that even he can’t follow through on. Soon, Taj realizes that some sins should never be eaten. When he stumbles upon a dark plot to destroy the kingdom, Taj must fight to save the princess he loves–and his own life.

About Tochi Onyebuchi:

Tochi Onyebuchi is a Nigerian American writer and a practicing attorney based in New York City. He holds a MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, a Masters degree in global economic law from L’institut d’études politiques, and a JD from Columbia Law School. His writing has appeared in Asimov’s and Ideomancer, among other places. Beasts Made of Night is his debut series. You can follow him @tochitruestory.

 

One thought on “Spotlight—Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s